Volunteer Opportunities

All Catechists and Assistants are volunteers….

  • who have the time and ability to prepare and present sessions; communicate with children and adolescents, and develop a rapport with them.
  • who are ordinary people, busy with families and jobs (most are not professional teachers).
  • whose ordinary qualities are transformed into extraordinary ones through their openness to the power of the Holy Spirit in their lives and ministry.

Catechists are encouraged to patricipate in catechist formation sessions, offered in a combination of classroom and on-line sessions. They usually give two hours per week to preparing and presenting a session. Materials and supportive assistance are provided by the parish.

Opportunities to assist in our Faith Formation program:

  1. Catechist: a fully initiated, practicing Catholic, age 18 or older, who is the primary leader for a group of children or youth in weekly Faith Formation sessions.
  2. Assistant: a youth or adult who regularly assists the catechist in fulfilling their role.
  3. Office Assistant: an adult who answers the phone, records attendance and assists with other office duties as needed.

If your talents include music (singing or playing an instrument), drama, art, crafts, story-telling, etc. you could also assist in a variety of ways at specific times during the year.

MINISTRY CONTACT EMAIL PHONE
Adult Choir Maggie Kahl mkahl@sij.org 410-661-4888
Altar Assistant Jon Gerstmyer jgerstmyer@sij.org 410-668-3686
Baptism Prep JoAnn Gier jgier@sij.org 410-661-4888
Boy Scouts Mike Huneke huneke6@zoominternet.net 410-665-2561
Cantor Mary Kay Binder mkay57@hotmail.com 410-661-4888
Children’s Choir Ashley Powers 410-661-4888
Children’s Liturgy of the Word Deacon Mike Baxter mbaxter@sij.org 410-665-2561
Confirmation Catechist Jon Gerstmyer jgerstmyer@sij.org 410-668-3686
Cub Scouts Ryan Bromwell RBromwell@LoyolaBlakefield.org 410-274-3849
Eucharistic Minister Jon Gerstmyer jgerstmyer@sij.org 410-668-3686
Enlightened (Youth) Band Chris Montcalmo chris.montcalmo@gmail.com 410-661-4888
Faith Formation
Catechist/Assistant/Substitute/Office Assistant
Deacon Mike Baxter mbaxter@sij.org 410-665-2561
Finance Committee Mike Mesick mikem19531@live.com 410-661-4888
Handbell Choir Maggie Kahl 410-661-4888
Haiti Committee Sean Hackett sfhackett@juno.com 410-661-4888
Lector Jon Gerstmyer jgerstmyer@sij.org 410-668-3686
Money Counter Rick Balog rbalog@sij.org 410-661-4888
Outreach Driver Janice Bures Janice_Bures@ca4.uscourts.gov 410-661-4888
Parents’ Day Out Debby Metzger deborah.metzger@comcast.net 410-661-4888
Parish Council Rick Balog rbalog@sij.org 410-661-4888
RCIA (Rite of Christian Initiation) Deacon Mike Baxter mbaxter@sij.org 410-665-2561
Reign Down (contemporary) Band Chris Montcalmo chris.montcalmo@gmail.com 410-661-4888
St. Vincent de Paul Food Pantry Debby Metzger deborah.metzger@comcast.net 410-661-4888
Usher Jon Gerstmyer jgerstmyer@sij.org 410-668-3686
Vacation Bible School Volunteeer Deacon Mike Baxter mbaxter@sij.org 410-665-2561
Youth Ministry Peer Minister Jon Gerstmyer jgerstmyer@sij.org 410-668-3686